Flat Tires and Second Chances.

Standard

“I hear You say: My love is over, it’s underneath, it’s inside, it’s in between. The times you doubt me, when you can’t feel, the times that you question, ‘is this for real’?….In times of confusion, in chaos and pain, I’m there in your sorrow under the weight of your shame. I’m there through your heart-ache. I’m there in the storm. My love I will keep you by my power alone. I don’t care where you’ve fallen or where you have been….I’ll never forsake you. My love never ends.” – Times, Tenth Avenue North.

A couple of days ago, I walked to my car, only to realize I had a flat tire. To make life more interesting (that’s me being positive), it was raining and it was cold. Needless to say, I left without changing it that day.

However, it reminded me of something that happened a few years ago.

I was on my way back from a long trip when all of the sudden (and at the worst possible time), I got a flat tire. Once I got home and my dad was able to inspect it, there was something he said that I’ll never forget.

“It seems that a while ago, something made a small hole and air has been leaking out slowly. On the road, you couldn’t feel it, but when you hit that last bump, the tire couldn’t take it anymore.”

As Christians, we are encouraged to keep growing in our spiritual lives. But what happens when we don’t realize that we are slipping? Is it possible to have “leaks” and not realize it? I think so. Sometimes we say, “Oh, I will just do it tomorrow!” But…do we? One day without prayer suddenly turns into weeks. One day without the study of the Word suddenly turns into months. Slowly, our daily devotion habits start disappearing and our spiritual life is loses the “air” that kept us going. Without these defenses to help us, what happens when we hit those last bumps? What happens when problems start appearing? We come agitated. We lose faith. We simply cannot take it.

That’s where I’ve been lately. Lost between Hopeless Street and Selfish Avenue.

Lucky for us, there’s a spare. A second chance. And I am thankful God doesn’t tire of giving those. He has already given us the tools to get back on the road…all we have to do is actually use them.

Leave a Reply

